Stood Up

Oh no.
Oh, no, no, no, no, no.
Not again.

Alex rested his head against the restaurant table. His hair that normally cascaded delicately around his face fanned out against it, mimicking his turbulent emotions. His light skin contrasted artfully against the dark green table. The muted roar of voices and clinking of cutlery on plates surrounded Alex. It wasn’t present at his booth.

A light tap on his shoulder startled him. With a sympathetic smile pasted on her pink-tinted lips, the waitress asked, “Still waiting on the other party?”

Biting his lip, Alex assured, “Yes, he’s coming. I swear!” He might have been a little too defensive with his quick reply. It didn’t seem to perturb the girl. In fact, her sympathetic look increased, her perfectly lined eyes crinkling in the corners as her face contorted in pity.

“Of course, dear…” She said quietly, tapping his hand twice before taking his empty glass of water for a refill. Alex’s eyes trailed behind her, watching her lean in towards her coworkers, speaking quietly making vague gestures in his direction. His stomach twisted. What a sight he must be. The glances from other customers didn’t go unnoticed either. They all knew. Their glances bored into him, reminding him with every look that they knew he was getting stood up.

At least it wasn’t the same restaurant as the last time. He would have looked doubly pathetic. He really needed to have a word with Jack. Alex never seemed too be his priority. He was always left abandoned at parties, bars, and apparently restaurants now too. Alex grimaced to himself. Have a word with Jack? That never worked. Usually, he’d flash Alex the charming smile that seduced him in the first place with a half-assed apology, and Alex would be back in his arms. Lately though, even the facade of caring for Alex seemed forgotten. Whenever he politely brought something up that bothered him, Jack would turn it around. He’d somehow manage to blame Alex until it turned into a volatile fight. Not being one for conflict, Alex almost always caved. On the rare occasions that Alex didn’t, Jack used his stronger, taller body and not in a seductive way. That isn’t to say he ever hit Alex, just stalked up to him in a threatening manner. He put a firm hand on Alex’s shoulder and held tightly with a fierce look in his eye that gave Alex chills. In a warning tone, he’d murmur, “Alex…”. He had an unpredictability that once enticed Alex, but now it was unsettling. Alex would squeak out an apology which would make Jack break out in a grin. He’d wrap Alex in his arms and say, “Oh, babe. I can’t stay mad at you…”

Alex didn’t think that Jack would hurt him intentionally (physically at least), but he didn’t want to take the chance. The uneasiness about talking to his boyfriend began to overpower the embarrassment of the situation until it hit Alex. Why was he taking this? Being stood up, being unable to speak civilly about his problems in the relationship, and fearing an escalation? He didn’t have to take it! All the resentment that had built up inside Alex threatened to explode. Well, if he wasn’t going to see Jack in person tonight, then he’d just text him the news. He pulled out his phone noticing his little line up of texts asking Jack where he was and if he was coming- all with the little “read” symbol next to them. His anger bubbled, but he tried to keep his text civil if a bit icy.

“Well, your not showing up gave me a lot of time to consider our relationship. You’ve been taking me for granted and bullying me when I bring it up. I want a relationship where where I am an equal, and frankly, you treat me like I’m nothing. I might have said this to you in person had you shown up, but since you’re so keen on not seeing me tonight, what’s say we make it permanent? It’s over, Jack.”
Alex was seething by the time he sent it. Maybe he didn’t keep it kind, but he didn’t care anymore. A polite tap at his shoulder knocked him out of his bubble back into reality. It was the waitress.

“I’m really sorry to do this, but if you don’t order soon, you’ll have to leave.” She was frowning, obviously feeling bad for the poor boy.

“Yeah,” Alex stammered, cheeks flaming red and shame-faced, “I’ll just be going…” He reached in his wallet and smacked down a few bills, feeling awful for wasting the girl’s time.

“Oh, oh…” She said with wide eyes, “You really don’t have to-”

Suddenly, a man burst forward, “Sorry I’m so late, babe! Traffic is crazy right now.” Alex looked up at the man. He was roughly a few inches taller than Alex with longish brown hair that curled to frame his cheekbones. His body was lean, clad nicely in a black patterned dress shirt and snug fitting dress pants with the shoes to match. Unarguably, he was bloody handsome.  Alex barely had time to question the man’s intent when he was swept up in a cautious hug, The stranger made sure he didn’t make Alex too uncomfortable with this action and leaned towards Alex’s ear.

“I’m Miles. Just go with it please?” The man, apparently Miles, whispered. Alex nodded.

“About time you showed up!” Alex exclaimed, trying to sell it but certain the confusion was evident in his eyes.

“I wasted a few minutes waiting at the host’s desk. I’m lucky I saw you. You look great by the way.” Miles complimented, causing Alex to blush.

The waitress smiled, relieved to see a happy ending for the distraught man. “Well, I’ll bring you a menu!” She rushed off and returned after they had seated themselves across from each other. “I’ll just give you guys some time.”

Alex peered up at Miles questioningly. “Why did you… you know?” He asked with a vague gesture. Miles graced him with a small smile.

“I looked at you and thought that it would be a crime to see you go home unhappy.” The answer was deceivingly simple, but sprinkled in compliments and flirtation. If Jack’s cockiness was charming, Miles’ confidence was downright dazzling.

“Oh, erm, thanks.” Alex managed and hid his face behind the menu.

“Just to clarify, what happened tonight? You seemed really upset.” Miles gently pried. The concern in his voice seemed genuine.

“I were stood up by my boyfriend.” Alex muttered. He looked up quickly and caught Miles looking a bit disappointed. “Then I dumped him over text message.” That seemed to perk him up. “I’m Alex by the way.”

“Very nice to meet you, Alex.” The way Miles spoke it was as if he were caressing Alex’s ears. His voice was intentionally slowed and lowered, giving Alex no false ideas of his intentions. “Your ex is stupid by the way. Who would leave someone like you to be stood up?”

Alex blushed again. “You don’t even know me yet. We’ve just met. I’m really not that great.”

“I think you just might be.” Miles countered and Alex furiously shook his head. “Alright, Alex. Prove me wrong. Tell me about yourself.”

Alex did. He recounted how he is studying English right now, hoping to be a professor one day. Miles himself was studying journalism. As soon as Alex brought up his hobby of playing guitar, Miles latched on to the topic, enthusiastically sharing the common interest. Their meals came, but Alex barely tasted the food, entranced as he was in conversation. By the time they were on desert, the conversation didn’t slow, but became more serious. Miles shared his concerns about not being able to make it in journalism.

“It’s a touchy field, Al. There’s not always room for hundreds of voices in the papers. Why would mine be one of the few?”

Alex disagreed. He could listen to Miles for days, and if his writing was as captivating as his conversation, the English student would subscribe to that paper in a heartbeat. Miles asked about Jack.

“If you wouldn’t mind of course. I get that it’s a fresh wound.” He reassured Alex, pressing a gentle hand onto Alex’s arm. Even through the blazer Alex felt shivers at the contact.

“It isn’t that fresh. It was always a consideration of it at the back of my mind. My best friend, Matt, kept telling me that Jack was a dick. I just got the nerve from tonight. It was kind of a toxic relationship.” Alex admitted, strangely at ease with explaining it to the near-stranger.

“How so?” Miles asked, scooping up a bit of his cake. Alex explained everything: the abandonment, the fighting, he even divulged the fear of violence.

“He’s got a temper, Jack does… He’s also got four inches on me in height and much more in muscle. Tonight I realized that I shouldn’t be scared of my boyfriend.” Alex felt embarrassed sharing this. He felt sickeningly weak and fragile. He put down his fork, too nauseous to eat.

He felt a warm body slide beside him.  Miles had gotten up and sat down with him. Placing a careful hand on Alex’s shoulder- again ensuring he was crossing no boundaries-, Miles squeezed comfortingly.

“That was brave of you, Al. Not a lot of people get out of those relationships. It’s fucking scary…”

“You sound as if you speak from experience.” Alex replied. Now, Miles fell mute, eyes falling onto the table.

“Yeah…” He quietly admitted. “At some point you’ve just gotta remember you’re worth a whole lot more than how they treat you.” His eyes stared into Alex’s. “I can assure you, Alex, after getting to know you tonight, he lost something priceless.” Warmth spread through Alex from the handsome man’s words. He opened his mouth to reply but found no words. The waitress flounced to their table.

“Can I get you guys the bill?” She inquired, trying to hide her smile at what she undoubtedly thought was a sweet moment between boyfriends. Alex nodded wordlessly.

“Yeah, just one bill. I’ll pay, Al. My apology for being so late.” Miles grinned at him. Alex opened his mouth to protest because Miles never actually was late but was silenced by a finger on his lips. “Shh, it’s my pleasure.” Alex smiled. The waitress left with the bill.

“So, did you drive here, Alex?” Miles asked. Alex shook his head.

“I live just up the road, so I walked.” Miles broke out a grin.

“Ah, may I drive you home then?” He gave a flirtatious flourish. “Like a gentleman would.” Alex couldn’t help but grin back. Miles’ smile was contagious.

“Alright, thanks.” Alex replied as the waitress came back with the bill.

They strolled out to the parking lot, hands brushing each other. As they approached Miles’ car, Miles broke out into a jog to the door, making sure to get there before Alex. He then bowed graciously as he opened the door.

“My, my, Miles, you are sweeping me right of my feet,” Alex snickered. Miles laughed.

“Then it’s working!” He went to the driver’s side and started the car. They drove in silence before Miles shyly asked. “Alex, would you- I mean, I would- like, erm…” It was the first time Alex had seen the suave man nervous and floundering. It was quite endearing. “Would you like to go on a real date with me sometime?”

“I would.” Alex said, fully confident for once.

Miles beamed. “Really? I mean, of course really. I’m a charming gentleman.” He covered his excitement- and failed- which made both men laugh.

Alex led Miles to the door of his flat.

“Thanks, Miles. I had a really good time tonight.” He smiled. Miles pulled out his phone.

“I did too. Could you put your number in for me, Al?” Alex nodded and started punching it in.

“So,” an angered voice drawled, “this is why you broke up with me Alex? For that?” Jack lumbered over, black hair a mess. He glared at Miles. “You meet a guy and immediately think, ‘Hey, he’s better than Jack’? He looks like a wanker.”

Miles turned with pursed lips. “You must be Jack.”

“You must be a genius to deduce that.” Jack replied sarcastically. “Really, Al? This? Throwing away everything we have? For this?”

Alex bit his lip. “I met him after I broke up with you.” He mumbled, not making eye-contact.

“Through text, Al? Isn’t that a little cruel? Can’t even tell me to my face? That was very rude!” He thundered.

“Standing him up seems rude too. I understand this wasn’t the first time either?” Miles demanded snappily.

“You want a fight, bean pole?” Jack turned to Miles, snarling.

“Why not? You seem like a dick.” Miles shrugged.

“Mi…” Alex cautioned.

“You seem like you need a lesson in manners.” Jack snapped.

“From you? Abandoning your boyfriend, making him feel unsafe around you, not even goddamn listening when he speaks to you? You jerks are all the same. You blame the whole world for everything bad you do. I knew one asshole just like you. Just get out of here.” Miles ranted.

“You watch your mouth. I’ll do what I want.” Jack said darkly.

“You can hit me. Won’t change anything though. It won’t win Alex over. It won’t make me go away. It’ll only give me a bruise.” Miles shrugged again.

“Miles, don’t encourage him…” Alex murmured. Miles leaned back towards Alex.

“He’s bluffing. I’m just calling it.” He whispered back before turning towards Jack with a grandiose gesture. “Go ahead! Hit me! What will it accomplish?”

“It’ll show you what happens when you steal my Alex.” Jack growled. His fist shot out catching Miles hard in the eye. Miles cried out. The momentum knocked him to the floor.

“Miles!” Alex shrieked before he spun around to Jack. “You stop it right now!”

“But, Al-”

” ‘But, Al’ nothing! I am not your anything. I am not your property.  I am not even your boyfriend anymore. This is what I’m sick of. Your temper, your arrogant attitude, and I mainly broke up with you because I thought you might hurt me.” Alex raged at Jack who froze.

“Alex,” he breathed, “I would never hurt you. I care about you.”

“You already have. Just not a flesh wound. Now, please, go away. Listen to what I want for once, Jack.” Alex firmly ordered.

“Alex, I’m sorry.” Jack said, coming closer, but Alex held up a hand.

“It’s too late for that. If you’re really sorry, you’ll go.” Alex sighed.

Jack nodded, face completely pale. He walked away, casting a regretful glance backwards. Alex turned to Miles who was cradling his head on the ground, sat up against the wall.

“Miles, I’m so sorry.” He knelt down to Miles’ level.

Miles looked up and started chuckling. “He wasn’t bluffing…” It was so ridiculous Alex started chuckling as well. The pair laughed heartily, tension falling off in waves. Alex noted the red on Miles’ face.

“Let’s get you some ice.” He helped Miles up and led him inside. Miles seemed to appraise the living room as Alex led him to the kitchen. Alex gestured for Miles to sit on the counter as he grabbed an ice pack. Wrapping it in a cloth, he tenderly applied it to Miles’ face. Miles hissed under his breath. “Thanks, Mi, for standing up for me.”

“Not a problem, Alex. He’s a twat… Probably shouldn’t have yelled ‘Hit me!’ at him though… He’s got a mean right hook.” Miles chuckled.

“I guess this means no second date…” Alex said sadly.

“What?” Miles’ eyes popped. “Why not? I know I shouldn’t have started the fight, but I swear Alex, I’m not a violent person. I really thought he’d go away when challenged. I didn’t mean  to-”

“Wait,” Alex cut him off. “You still want to go out with me after that? Are you out of your mind? You did just take a blow to the head.”

“I really do. You stood up for yourself out there brilliantly. You didn’t even need me to be a shitty bodyguard. The scene wasn’t your fault anyway. Besides, if I’m gonna go out of my mind on behalf of someone, I’d rather that person be you.” Miles explained.

“Oh?” Alex smirked. “I thought you weren’t a fighter.”

Miles grinned. “I’m not. I never said I’d go out of my mind with anger…” He slid off the counter and wrapped an arm around Alex’s waist. “I’d say it’s pretty crazy to fake being a late boyfriend just because a gorgeous man looks upset.”

Alex’s cheeks warmed. “Yeah, I dunno if I wanna date a weirdo like that…” He took the ice off Miles’ eye and set it on the counter conveniently allowing him to wrap his arms around Miles’ waist.

“Yet, here you are embracing me in your flat.” Miles teased.

“I must have poor judgement.” Alex giggled.

“Oh, I hope so. Then maybe you won’t notice how out of your league I am.” Miles flirted, batting his lashes playfully.

Alex beamed at Miles. “Untrue. You’re wonderful.” They leaned closer and closer until their foreheads were resting together.

“Even with only one good eye, you are the most stunning sight…” Miles breathed after a moment of silence.

“Is it… Is it too soon to kiss you?” Alex inquired, prompting a smile from Miles.

“Today, you’ve been kept waiting long enough.” With a tilt of his head, Miles closed the distance between their mouths.

One thought on “Stood Up”

Leave a comment